Santa Brought Us Snow Bikes!

Posted: December 25, 2011 in Motivation, Product Reviews

by Trish Dugan

Ever since our fleet of Surly Pugsley snow bikes arrived at the shop about a month ago, I’ve had my eye on one. Just one trip around the parking lot and I was hooked! And here’s why. Winter is tough season in CNY for cyclists. You have basically two choices. Bundle up and brave the snow on your road or cyclocross bike or set up your bike on an indoor trainer in your living room/basement/garage.

Option #1 drawback: to be honest, it’s not dodging snowplows or worrying about salt on my bike that discourages me. It’s more about just being so much SLOWER in the winter on the same routes that I ride all summer long. Call me vain, I don’t care.

Option #2 drawback. You’re stuck inside, in one place. Utter boredom. I don’t know about you, but I ride because I love the feeling of my body moving through space, out of doors. Running, skiing and snowshoeing are OK substitutes, but hardly the same thing.

I miss cycling tremendously in the winter. Enter my new snow bike. The Surly Pugsley was created to go where standard all-terrain bikes flounder. They’re great on otherwise unrideable terrain (such as ice and snow) because of the flotation and traction provided by their huge, bad ass tires.  Quite simply put, snow bikes are all about putting the fun back in biking!

And if you don’t want to take my word for it, listen to this clinic put on by our Service Manager Ari Andonopolous. Then look for details of our snow bike demo day in a month or so and come out to experience some pure, unadulterated winter fun for yourself!

NCC Stay Moving Clinic – Snowbikes with Ari from Tobie DePauw on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

